Advice for adventure

The magic of any study abroad program is the way in which the world is open to the student. For me, a normal school week ends on Thursday allowing for three glorious days of unexplored opportunity. The entirety of Europe is in my reach, inhibited only by a host of unanticipated difficulties such as distance, transportation, and travel companions. What my program refers to as “Free Travel” is characterized by the student’s ability to overcome current challenges and plan ahead for inevitable ones.image

The first step in planning a trip is to choose the location. Where in the world do I want to go? For me, the real question was, where do I NOT want to go? Give me a plan and I’m there! But a trip to Switzerland sounds amazing until you consider the price, the hours you would spend on the train, the availability of Airbnb’s, etc. 

So you choose a location much closer, Prague for example, and now the real battle begins. But who will go with you? Despite our youth, many of my peers consider a study abroad semester to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. While I certainly don’t believe I’ll never leave the United States again, a lot of my classmates feel a great pressure to check everything off their bucket list before the final flight in April. This mindset presents the problem of individual agendas that don’t match. The other extreme is the issue of everyone wanting to go to the same place. I have found the smaller the group, the better.

img_3149-2

So you’re going to Prague. How will you get there? Where will you stay? What will you do?

Europeans should be proud of their public transportation systems, both within major cities and internationally. The closeness of each nation means many accessible methods of to-ing and fro-ing. I have found the websites Flixbus and Omnio to be the best for cheap train or bus tickets. 

But before you choose your transport, know what you’re getting.

If you’re willing to sit on a coach bus for a few hours, you can get to another country for less than €20. I once took a bus with TV screens on the back of each seat and an attendant who passed out headphones and espresso drinks; it was quite comfortable! However, the issue with a bus is they often drop you off on the outskirts of town. Give yourself plenty of time to walk and figure out your surroundings if you take the bus. img_2120.jpg

Included in my university program was a monthly pass for the Eurail, an international train service that snakes throughout Europe and will catch you a ride to many destinations with no reservation required. I loved it because of the freedom it provided. One day after class a few of us just hopped on the train to Melk, a small town south of Vienna. At nightfall we zipped back to Vienna, about a 45 minute ride, easy. 

Trains also offer more flexibility when choosing a location. For destinations further away, you can rent a couchette or sleeping bunk. These do cost extra and are extremely uncomfortable, but hey, you can sleep your way across Europe. The couchettes I’ve stayed in are six-person compartments with corresponding bunks. The beds are like very stiff couches, but each passenger receives a sheet, blanket, pillow, bottle of water, and a light breakfast. I always feel like an accomplished traveler after spending a night in one of those.

Every train I’ve been on has been different. If you’re lucky your train will have Wifi and you can catch up on your blog posts! Maybe that’s just me. 

Once you reach your destination, where do you go? There’s an entire city to explore but only a few days to see everything! My favorite first-day activity is a free walking tour, found in most major cities. The tour guides are paid only by tips and always do their best to make the trip enjoyable. They can be long and require a lot of walking, but I think it’s the best way to get a feel of the city and its history. These tour guides give great recommendations on where to eat and what to do in the city.

I’m young, and I recognize I still have so much to learn about the world, but these are the lessons I’ve learned on this amazing adventure. 

Let go of your expectations; no matter where in the world you are, cities are dirty, smelly and full of people. Your pictures will not look like the ones you found on Pinterest.

Be patient with your fellow travelers; traveling is stressful and scary. Recognize that everyone is exhausted, and probably hungry, but enjoy yourself regardless. And please, don’t leave anyone behind. We all hate FOMO. 

Try new things; Get out of your comfort zone! Especially with food. One of my biggest frustrations is how difficult it is to find authentic food. The golden arches on every corner mock me and say “I know you’re in Poland, but how about a good ol’ American Big Mac?” Save the pizza for Italy, eat goulash in Hungary, curry-Wurst in Germany, and Pierogis in Poland! In my opinion food is the best way to explore a culture, which is probably obvious from the number of pictures I have included.

Planning a trip is stressful, and I have to remember how incredibly blessed I am. In three months I have been to fourteen countries. I have seen, eaten, heard, and experienced some incredible things. And even more incredible is how much I’ve learned and grown through every trip, especially in my faith. We’ve had problems with transportation, drama between students, and found ourselves in scary situations, but God has always led us safely back to Vienna. And I believe at the end of the semester He will bring me safely back to the United States… where I will sit restlessly and dream about Europe until I can go back.

img_4251

Leave a comment